I’m No Superman.


I’ve recently discovered Scrubs. Please, don’t ask me to comment on how old it makes me feel when I think about the fact that it’s 2011, and I’m ‘discovering’ a show that ran in 2001. 

Actually, it’s a good time for me to be discovering Scrubs. In 2001, when it first aired, I was only 23 and I hadn’t dug into college and career yet.  Now, I’m finishing a Master’s and planning out a doctorate. I’m publishing my first book, and I’ve had a couple of years’ experience counseling and consulting individuals and businesses.  I’m in a state of quasi-professionalism. I have the training, but limited experience.  Every case is still new.  Every puzzle is still a complete mystery at first.

Still, I’ve seen some things, and I’ve done some things, and I believe now that I actually do have a deeper understanding of finance and economics than most.  I can help people get to their goals faster than they could alone. Scrubs follows the budding careers of medical interns and residents-in-training as they come to grips with the responsibilities, and anxieties of being doctors.  It’s all the same.

Most of all, I think it’s J.D. the hero of Scrubs, that I react to most.  J.D. is the kind of anti-hero we’d expect of Superman’s insecure twin.  J.D. is hero, alter-ego, and arch-enemy, in concert.  He is his own worst enemy, and his only hope for happiness.  That’s what I love about coming-of-age. It’s a terrifying, and exhilarating process!

It’s the same when we come of age financially.  Accepting more responsibility over our financial lives means growing up to the realities we face as people who cannot realistically work until we’re 80, but we may live until 100.  How can we prepare for that?  If you have kids, you know that you can’t teach something you don’t understand yourself.  Eventually, we realize that if our parents/teachers/mentors didn’t teach us about money, then we have no choice but to teach ourselves.  Don’t you know it, though; as soon as you decide to be your best, you’re faced with your internal obstacles and your conflicting desires. I think we all have a Superhero, an Alter-Ego, and a Supervillian/Dark Side that play in our minds.

Financially, my Superhero self is daring, creates lots of value from simple things, and gives to those who have great potential and heart, but need a leg up. My Alter-Ego is diligent and responsible, making sure that I stay on track with slow and steady progress in the right direction, and my Supervillian hangs out in the tropics, wears Prada, and drives a Benz.

How would you describe your inner financial Superero, Alter-Ego, and Supervillian?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 00:17:43

    My inner financial superhero: Makes tons of money developing new technology and saves most of it, living well of the rest. He gives nothing to charity, choosing instead to invest in people all over the world (Kiva-style). He wears the nicest clothes and drives the nicest cars, leaving a couple of them at each house. The superhero also buys Prada and Benzes (plural) for his wife.

    My inner financial villan gets stuck in debt and never gets out.

    Reply

  2. Graham
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 00:32:51

    Sarah, just a thought. It seems at the end that you are saying it is wrong to seek riches for yourself. As I disagree with that idea, I’m wondering if you would clarify…

    Reply

    • Finance Therapy
      Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:10:18

      I can see why it would sound like I’m saying that living a luxurious lifestyle is innately wrong.

      What I was really describing is the part of myself that spends emotionally. My financial arch enemy is the part of me that wants to use money for power, status and indulging laziness. She would do nothing with her life but sit on a beach and use her money to get people to serve her and keep her company.

      Reply

    • Finance Therapy
      Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:11:53

      For instance. That’s the part of me that wants an iPad just because I can afford it. Not because I have any real use for it other than playing Cut the Rope and Angry Birds.

      It’s the part of me that sees the emergency fund and thinks, “We could go to Fiji! Nothing bad will happen. We’re still young.” Etc.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

